Closeburn House was built in the late 1800’s by Mrs Mary Theresa Alice Kirkpatrick. Mary named her home Closeburn House after the village of Closeburn in Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland where Closeburn Castle still stands and was the family seat of the Kirkpatrick family until 1783.

Closeburn House has periodically operated as an upmarket guesthouse for more than a century. In the early 1900’s, Closeburn House laid on what became the main western highway route with the opening of Berghofer’s Pass, which became popular with the new motor vehicles that baulked at the steep gradient of Victoria Pass.

The current built form of Closeburn House was the work of Mr Peter Broome who extensively restored and extended the building in 1990, opening it to the public in 1991.

After changing hands and then suffering from a decade of neglect, Closeburn House was acquired by Matthew Brown in mid-2017, who undertook a comprehensive refurbishment of the house and grounds. A year later, a new chapter in Closeburn’s rich history of hospitality commenced when it again opened to guests as a boutique guesthouse.